Name: Chora Welling
House: McKaig

Hey everybody! My name is Chora Belle or Chora for short, and I am currently a freshman at FSU. I was born and raised in Jacksonville, FL. I come from a family of five kids, and I am a middle child. My favorite things include nature, water, the beach, food, and music. I was a swimmer and lifeguard all through high school, so you can find me either at the beach or the pool during the summer! I love to stay active by doing yoga or any team sport like soccer or volleyball, and I just discovered spikeball which is pretty cool. Hiking is one of my hobbies, and I thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail when I was 12, so backpacking really relaxes me. I feel like nature is a really good place to be mindful and aware of your surroundings which is part of why I want to become a park ranger after college. Currently, I am trying to keep my options open for my major which is why I am exploratory, but I am planning on auditioning for the music education program here at FSU (fingers crossed) and doing a double-major with anthropology. Some of my college goals include: becoming part of the honors program, studying abroad in Florence, keeping a good GPA, and making a lot of new friends. I discovered SSF from Emily Lee, who graduated from here and went on to work for SSF for a while. I had never heard of it before, and neither had my high school counselors, so I was thrilled to find out about it. It doesn’t get much better than rent-free housing and community living. When I got in, it was such a relief for me and my family. To be able to graduate without debt is a very attainable goal with the help of SSF. So far, I have really enjoyed myself both at FSU and SSF, and I feel like SSF builds a pretty cool network of people. I am always down to hang out, and if any high school seniors want advice or info about SSF feel free to contact me 🙂