Name: Kristine Smith
House: Rotary

I’m Kristine Smith and I was born and raised in Sarasota, Florida. That’s about an hour south of Tampa. I am Colombian-American and am very proud of my heritage and family. I have two sisters, one older and one younger that I talk to almost every day. We constantly fought growing up – as sister are prone to do – but we have a great relationship now and I don’t know what I would do without them. I found out about SSF because my older sister participated in it when she was a student at the University of Florida. I was encouraged to apply by her and my mom and now I am here 🙂

In my spare time I like to swim and sunbathe. I really enjoy reading for pleasure, although I don’t have much time for that nowadays. Spending time with my friends is also something I enjoy and is really important to me because it allows me to unwind from the pressures of school and life. I’ve recently mended my relationship with the gym – it took a beating during the start of Covid-19 – and find that I actually enjoy going now; having had that luxury taken away earlier in this pandemic, I think I appreciate it more now. I love trying new foods and have been particularly obsessed with Indian lately. However, if I had to choose, my favorite food would be beef and potatoes empanadas. Being outside is also something I enjoy, and I love to take walks and house hunt in my neighborhood back home. My favorite seasons are all of them except winter so I’m really enjoying the weather we are having right now; I can’t stand the cold which means anything colder than 50. My post-graduation plans are to travel for two years or so before ultimately going back to school to become a certified midwife. I don’t have preferences for where I travel to and I want to experience as many places as I possibly can. A fun fact about me: I can tie a knot in a cherry stem with my tongue!