Southern Scholarship Foundation

Through rent-free housing and cooperative living, Southern Scholarship Foundation supports students who lack financial resources, demonstrate excellent academic merit, and exemplify good character attend institutions of higher education.

For more than 60 years, SSF has helped students achieve their dreams of attending their choice university through our partnerships at Florida Gulf Coast University, University of Florida, Santa Fe College, Florida State University, Flagler College – Tallahassee, Florida A & M University, and Tallahassee Community College. While SSF does not provide monetary based scholarships, we offer rent-free homes located near our partner institutions. We currently have 25 homes statewide and serve 450 students. Check out information about each specific house here.

More than a Scholarship… an Education for Life!

SSF Board of Directors

Officers

Mary Bedford
Chair of the Board
President, Emergent Design and Development, Inc.

R. Scott Vedder
Immediate Past-Chair
Certified Financial Planner

Rhoda Glasco Foderingham, J.D. (alumna),
Chair-Elect/Governance & Nominations Chair
Retired Attorney

Ryan Tucker, Treasurer
Finance Chair
CPA – Purvis Gray & Company

Jim Davis
Development Chair
Executive Director, Sustainable Tallahassee

Paula DeBoles-Johnson
Student Affairs Chair
Employment Engagement and Performance Manager, Leon County Government

Charlotte Edenfield (alumna)
Secretary
Firm Administrator, Anderson & Hart P.A

James “Jay” Newman, Jr.
At-Large

Linda Jenkins
At- Large
Retired Educator

Board Members

Alix Alexis
Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch

Bill Rutherford
Owner/Architect – Clemons Rutherford

Christine Lloyd, Ph.D.
Director of Human Resources, University of Florida

Elizabeth Boyette

F. James Wylie, Jr.
President/Owner – Professional Consultant, LLC

Fanchon F. Funk, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita – FSU College of Education

John “Jack” Jenkins
Retired Educator

Joseph Briggs (alumnus)

Kathy Bell (alumna)
COO, Coloney Bell Engineering

Kelly Sleeper (alumna)
Stay-at-Home Mom

Lady Dhyana Ziegler, Ph.D.
Interim President/CEO, Florida Virtual School (FLVS)

Nicholas Appelo (alumnus)
Investment Banking Analyst, Evercore

Pamela Davis (alumna)
Retired Executive Director/CEO – Kids Inc. of the Big Bend

Patricia Green-Powell, Ph.D.
Interim Dean, College of Education FAMU

Sheila Dickison, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Academic
Programs at the Bob Graham Center for Public Service

Herby Zephir
Student Board Representative

Staff

Shawn J. Woodin, Ed.D.
President/CEO
swoodin@southernscholarship.org

Teresa Turner
Director of Student Affairs – C. FL
tturner@southernscholarship.org

Isabella Castillo
Student Affairs Coordinator – C. FL
icastillo@southernscholarship.org

Daniela Rodriguez-Marty
Student Affairs Coordinator – N. FL
drodriguez@southernscholarship.org

Dale Dixon
Director of Maintenance – C. FL
ddixon@southernscholarship.org

Liovani Nazario, Ph.D.
Director of Student Affairs – N. FL
lnazario@southernscholarship.org

Akira Hung
Staff Accountant
ahung@southernscholarship.org

Norman Moore
Director of Maintenance – N. FL
nmoore@southernscholarship.org

John Stewart
Senior Maintenance Technician – N. FL
jstewart@southernscholarship.org

Now Hiring!
Development Associate

Kristie Teal
Director of Development
kteal@southernscholarship.org

Troy Townsend
Communications Specialist
ttownsend@southernscholarship.org

Becky Hunt
Development Officer
bhunt@southernscholarship.org

Our Impact

Making College Affordable
Recruitment Flyer

Financials & Governance

Southern Scholarship Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization (click here for Determination Letter) that is operated by a dedicated staff and governed by a Board of Directors. We believe in transparency and invite you to view our audited financials and 990s.

Downloads

“A copy of the official registration and financial information may be obtained from the Division of Consumer Services by calling toll free (800-435-7352) within the state. Registration does not imply endorsement, approval, or recommendation by the state.”