Southern Scholarship Foundation

Through rent-free housing and cooperative living, Southern Scholarship Foundation supports students who lack financial resources, demonstrate excellent academic merit, and exemplify good character attend institutions of higher education.

For more than 60 years, SSF has helped students achieve their dreams of attending their choice university through our partnerships at Florida Gulf Coast University, University of Florida, Santa Fe College, Florida State University, Flagler College – Tallahassee, Florida A & M University, and Tallahassee Community College. While SSF does not provide monetary based scholarships, we offer rent-free homes located near our partner institutions. We currently have 25 homes statewide and serve 450 students. Check out information about each specific house here.

More than a Scholarship… an Education for Life!

SSF Board of Directors

Officers

Mary Bedford
Chair of the Board
President, Emergent Design and Development , Inc.

Scott Vedder
Immediate Past-Chair
Certified Financial Planner

Rhoda Glasco Foderingham, J.D. (alumna), Chair-Elect
Governance & Nominations Chair
Retired Attorney

Randy Guemple, Treasurer
Finance Chair
Executive Vice President/CFO
Prime Meridian Bank

Jim Davis
Development Chair
Executive Director, Sustainable Tallahassee

Jazmin Caton, Ed.D. (alumna)
Student Affairs Chair
Program Coordinator, YMCA of Metropolitan Fort Worth

Charlotte Edenfield (alumna)
Secretary
Firm Administrator, Anderson & Hart P.A

James “Jay” Newman, Jr.
At-Large

Linda Jenkins
At- Large
Retired Educator

Board Members

Pamela Davis (alumna)
Retired Executive Director/CEO – Kids Inc. of the Big Bend

Kathy Bell (alumna)
COO, Coloney Bell Engineering

Sheila Dickison, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Academic
Programs at the Bob Graham Center for Public Service

Fanchon F. Funk, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita – FSU College of Education

Becky Hunt
Director of Sales, Marriott Hotel Group

Christine Lloyd

John “Jack” Jenkins, Ph.D.
Retired Educator

Joseph Briggs

Bill Rutherford
Owner/Architect – Clemons Rutherford

Paula DeBoles-Johnson
Employment Engagement and Performance Manager, Leon County Government

Elizabeth Boyette

Lady Dhyana Ziegler, Ph.D.
Professor of Journalism – FAMU

Ryan Tucker
CPA – Purvis Gray & Company

F. James Wylie, Jr.
President/Owner – Professional Consultant, LLC

Keith Wemm
Vice President- Florida Retail Federation

Alix Alexis
Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch

Nicholas Appelo (alumnus)
Investment Banking Analyst, Evercore

Patricia Green-Powell, Ph.D.
Interim Dean, College of Education FAMU

Kelly Sleeper (alumna)
Stay-at-Home Mom

Natazia Quinones
Student Board Representative

Staff

Shawn J. Woodin, Ed.D.
President/CEO
swoodin@southernscholarship.org

Teresa Turner
Director of Student Affairs – C. FL
tturner@southernscholarship.org

Isabella Castillo
Student Affairs Coordinator – C. FL
icastillo@southernscholarship.org

Daniela Rodriguez-Marty
Student Affairs Coordinator – N. FL
drodriguez@southernscholarship.org

Dale Dixon
Director of Maintenance – C. FL
ddixon@southernscholarship.org

Liovani Nazario, Ph.D.
Director of Student Affairs – N. FL
lnazario@southernscholarship.org

Akira Hung
Staff Accountant
ahung@southernscholarship.org

Norman Moore
Director of Maintenance – N. FL
nmoore@southernscholarship.org

David Nelson
Senior Maintenance Technician – N. FL

Emily Lee
Communications Specialist
elee@southernscholarship.org

Kristie Teal
Director of Development
kteal@southernscholarship.org

Troy Townsend
Development Associate
ttownsend@southernscholarship.org

Becky Hunt
Development Officer
bhunt@southernscholarship.org

Our Impact

Making College Affordable
Recruitment Flyer

Financials & Governance

Southern Scholarship Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization (click here for Determination Letter) that is operated by a dedicated staff and governed by a Board of Directors. We believe in transparency and invite you to view our audited financials and 990s.

Downloads

“A copy of the official registration and financial information may be obtained from the Division of Consumer Services by calling toll free (800-435-7352) within the state. Registration does not imply endorsement, approval, or recommendation by the state.”